In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 1230
Online now 400 Record: 6475 (12/7/2012)
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
No way you can call infield fly in that situation when the leftfielder has a chance to make a play on the fly ball too. That call should be reversed. Simply a terrible call. Thought Fredi was gonna get thrown out for it.
I can see why they called it. By definition, it may not be as bad as it looked, actually. The rule says any ball that can be reached by an infielder with normal effort.
If Kozma catches the ball, no one thinks twice about it being ruled an infield fly.
Staff writer for govols247 — http://www.twitter.com/RyanCallahan247 — firstname.lastname@example.org
Bad bad call by the freakin ump.
Does that look like a "normal" effort by Kozma to you? Dude had to go way out of position to have any chance to catch that ball.
That was bs. I'm not going to lie. Why can't baseball seriously take advantage of instant replay?
It was a bad call. I hate the infield fly rule first off. Its ridiculous to have that rule. Do they just allow a PAT to be good automatically? What about a put inside 5 feet? I just do not like that they agree to concede that the ball will be caught. Especially in the outfield and with wind sometimes. I just don't like the rule.
It's not about where the ball lands. Replay only confirms that it's a borderline - but not terrible - call.
Yes, but he wasn't sprinting. He camped out under it 3 seconds before it hit the ground.
Wow. The Braves had plenty of opportunities to get back in this game.
Huge, huge strikeout by Motte there.
Was it a borderline, questionable call? Absolutely. Is it the worst I've ever seen? No way. This isn't even in the ballpark with the missed call at first base that blew Galarraga's perfect game.
Was the ball in the infield, or was it in the outfield, at the halfway point in the outfield no less. End of story bad call
Way to stay classy Braves fans!
It was not a bad call- what if he let it drop and doubled up a runner??
Both the LF and SS had a play at the ball. They ended up having a miscommunication and the ball fell through. The Infield Fly rule only applies if a runner is on 2nd, and less than 2 outs. Normally, the Infield Fly would called really early in the play, sometimes before the play even starts. This umpire made the call really, really late.
Since the purpose of the rule is to prevent double plays, the rule applies only when there are fewer than two outs, and there is a force play at third base (i.e., when there are runners at first and second base, or the bases are loaded). In these situations, if a fair fly ball is in play, and in the umpire's judgment it is catchable by an infielder with ordinary effort, the umpire shall call "infield fly" (or more often, "infield fly, batter's out"); the batter will be out regardless of whether the ball is actually caught in flight. Umpires typically raise the right arm straight up, index finger pointing up, to signal the rule is in effect.
Ryan, while I understand your position, it was boarderline, but the thing I argue with was the time in which it was called. It could not have helped the offense as the rule is supposed to do if they call it a half second before it hits the ground. Plus, 3 seconds is very quick counting.
I think where everyone is disagreeing with the call is: it is supposed to be called in a timely fashion. AKA early! That was one of the latest infield flies I've ever seen called. It was a half second before the ball hit the ground.
I agree it probably should have been called sooner, but I really don't think the call itself was quite as horrible as a lot of people thought it was.
It was clearly catchable by the infielder.
That was a horrible call at first!
No kidding. No gray area on that one.
Yeah, but thats why they are called fans. They are fanatics!
I see Rucker is finally blowing up twitter about this game.
I will say good game Cards though. They capitalized on all of our mistakes.
Of course. Where there's questionable officiating, there's an over-the-top Rucker reaction.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports